Ninth Annual



SRP Sustainability Conference

of American Legal Educators

May 9 - 10 | Beus Center for Law and Society

May 10

8 - 8:30 a.m.	Check-in and light breakfast
	W. P. Carey Foundation Armstrong Great Hall
8:30 - 9:30 a.m.	Introductions and Morrison Laureate Address
	W. P. Carey Foundation Armstrong Great Hall
	Morrison Laureate,
	Karrigan Bork, UC Davis School of Law
9:30 - 10:50 a.m.	Breakout Session One
	• Room 1 (room 150) - Freestanding Presentations:
	"Sustainability Policy and the Energy Transition"
	Room 2 (room 240) - Freestanding Presentations:
	"The Sustainability Movement and Property Law"
	Room 3 (room 250) - Panel: "Natural Resource
	Systems Thinking"
11 a.m 12:20 p.m.	Breakout Session Two
	Room 1 (room 150) - Freestanding Presentations:
	"Sustainability and Climate Change"
	Room 2 (room 240) - Freestanding Presentations:
	"Sustainability and International Law"
	Room 3 (room 250) - Freestanding Presentations:
	"Sustainability Law and Natural Resources"

12:30 - 1:30 p.m.	Lunch break
	W. P. Carey Foundation Armstrong Great Hall
1:40 - 3 p.m.	Breakout Session Three
	• Room 1 (room 150) - Panel: "Climate and Energy"
	Room 2 (room 250) - Freestanding Presentations:
	"Environmental Justice, Energy Justice, and Climate
	Justice"
3:10 - 4:30 p.m.	Breakout Session Four
	• Room 1 (room 150) - Panel: "What is the Relationship
	Between Law and Social Science?"
	• Room 2 (room 240)- Freestanding Presentations:

"Converting Energy and Environmental Policy into Action"



Scan to view the full schedule and learn more about the speakers.

Thank you to our sponsors!

Salt River Project (SRP)

Freeport McMoRan | Richard Morrison MacCready Family Foundation Jack Clifford | Sarah Porter

100 YEARS • 1921-2021

ENFELD

Perkins Coie | Gust Rosenfeld | Salmon Lewis & Welden

PERKINSCOLE COUNSEL TO GREAT COMPANIES

Salmon, Lewis & Weldon, PLC

2024 Conference speakers

Todd Aagaard, Professor of Law at the Charles Widger School of Law at Villanova University

Chinonso Anozie, Assistant Professor of Law, Willamette University College of Law

Karrigan Börk, Acting Professor of Law and Co-Director, California Environmental Law and Policy Center, UC Davis

Karen Bradshaw, Mary Sigler Fellow in Law, Professor of Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Cinnamon P. Carlarne, President and Dean, Professor of Law, Albany Law School

Lingxi Chenyang, Associate Professor of Law, University of Utah, S.J. Quinney College of Law

Jane Maslow Cohen, Edward Clark Centennial Professor of Law, University of Texas School of Law

James Coleman, Professor, Southern Methodist University's Dedman School of Law; Fellow at the American Enterprise Institute

Lincoln Davies, Dean and Frank R. Strong Chair in Law, The Ohio State University Michael E. Moritz College of Law

K.K. DuVivier, Professor and John A. Carver, Jr. Chair in Natural Resources Law, Sturm College of Law, University of Denver

Monika U. Ehrman, Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law

Paolo D. Farah, Ph.D., Professor of Public Administration and Public Policy, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, West Virginia University

Steven Ferrey, Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School

Lakshman Guruswamy, Professor Emeritus, Colorado Law, University of Colorado Boulder Keith H. Hirokawa, Distinguished Professor of Law, Albany Law School

Blake Hudson, Dean and Professor of Law, Cumberland School of Law, Samford University

Sam Kalen, Visiting McKinney Family Environmental Law Chair, at IU McKinney School of Law (2023-2024); William T. Schwartz Distinguished Professor of Law and Associate Dean, adjunct faculty, Haub School of the Environment & Natural Resources, University of Wyoming

Rhett Larson, Richard Morrison Professor of Water Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Jaclyn Lopez, Assistant Professor of Law and Director of the Jacobs Public Interest Law Clinic for Democracy and the Environment, Stetson Law

Sean Lyness, Assistant Professor of Law, New England Law Boston

Roberta Mann, Professor Emerita, University of Oregon School of Law

Nancy McLaughlin, Robert W. Swenson Professor of Law, College Of Law, The University of Utah

Cherie Metcalf, Associate Dean (Research), Associate Professor Queen's University

Anthony Moffa, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Innovation, University of Maine School of Law

Felix Mormann, Professor of Law and Professor of Engineering at Texas A&M University

Jonathan Nash, Robert Howell Hall Professor, Director of the Center on Federalism and Intersystemic Governance, Emory University School of Law

Adam D. Orford, Assistant Professor, University of Georgia School of Law

Jessica Owley, Professor of Law and Director of the Environmental Law Program, University of Miami

Lee C. Paddock, Associate Dean for Environmental Studies, Professorial Lecturer in Law, The George Washington University

Heather Payne, Professor of Law, Seton Hall University School of Law

Kalyani Robbins, Morris I. Leibman Professor of Law, Loyola University Chicago

Troy Rule, Joseph Feller Memorial Chair in Law and Sustainability, Professor of Law; Director, Law and Sustainability Program, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Erin Ryan, Elizabeth C. and Clyde W. Atkinson Professor and Associate Dean for Environmental Programs, Florida State University College of Law

Stephanie M. Stern, Professor of Law James R. Rogers College of Law, The University of Arizona

Kristen van de Biezenbos, Professor of Law, California Westen School of Law

Gabriel Weil, Assistant Professor of Law, Touro Law, Jacob D. Fuchberg Law Center

Michael Allan Wolf, Richard E. Nelson Eminent Scholar Chair in Local Government, University of Florida Levin College of Law

Katrina Wyman, Wilf Family Professor of Property Law; Director, Environmental and Energy Law LLM Program, New York University School of Law



2024 Morrison Prize Winner



Karrigan S. Bork

Congratulations to Karrigan S. Bork, Acting Professor of Law at UC Davis School of Law, on winning ASU's 2024 Morrison Prize for his entry on Water Right Exactions, 47 Harvard Env't Law

ASU Law's Morrison Prize honors professor for water rights research Rev. 63 (2023).

An article advocating for a novel approach to water rights conflicts has been awarded the Morrison Prize by the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University.

Karrigan Börk, acting professor of law at the University of California, Davis School of Law, was awarded the prestigious honor for his article "Water Right Exactions," published in 2023 in the Harvard Environmental Law Review.

"The past winners are outstanding environmental scholars, and I'm humbled to receive the award," Börk said. "The Morrison Prize and the sustainability conference play a vital role in bringing attention to our environmental challenges, and I hope that the award will bring more attention to the need to balance water use with the impacts of its withdrawal on rivers and their ecosystems. I'm grateful to the prize selection panel for the award and to the conference organizers for building this scholarly community."

Börk's article describes an inventive potential means of mitigating current water rights issues in the U.S.: the use of an exactions framework analogous to those long used by local governments in the land-use planning context. Börk suggests that state agencies could use an exactions model to collect funds and in-kind contributions to help offset the social costs of water withdrawals.